Toshiko Akiyoshi: Stive For Jive

Catalog # 72336
UPC # 602267233629


Toshiko Akiyoshi; Piano, Composer, Arranger,


Lew Tabackin; Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Piccolo, Walt Weiskopf; Tenor Saxophone, Frank Wess; Alto Saxophone, Clarinet, Flute, Jim Snidero; Alto Saxophone, Ed Xiques; Baritone Saxophone & Reeds,Brian Lynch; Trumpet, Joe Mosello; Trumpet, John Eckert; Trumpet, Chris Pasin; Trumpet, Dave Panichi; Trumpet, Hart Smith; Trombone, Bruce Otter; Trombone, Matt Finders; Bass Trombone, Dennis Irwin; Bass, Jeff Hirschfield; Drums,

This V.I.E.W. DVD, entitled Toshiko Akiyoshi Jazz Orchestra: Strive for Jive, features the Big Band of the renowned Jazz composer / pianist Toshiko Akiyoshi. Considered to be one of the finest Big Bands in Jazz, they masterfully possess an individual sound while continuing to swing, maintaining a traditional Big Band feel. From the American Bebop of pianist Bud Powell, to Eastern Folk music structures of Japan and the creativity of the band’s principle soloist (saxophone/flutist Lew Tabackin), these various musical influences create a rich texture and originality to the renowned Toshiko Akiyoshi Jazz Orchestra.

“…one of our great musical institutions…absolutely amazing.” – JazzTimes

With 14 Grammy nominations, Akiyoshi has more then defined a place in the annals of music history. As the first female to ever win Downbeat’s prestigious Best Arranger and Composer Awards, and the feature of a documentary entitled Jazz Is My Native Language, Toshiko Akiyoshi cemented her place in music and has risen to become one of the most respected pianists and composers in the Jazz world.

“The band showed three areas of unusual excellence – Miss Akiyoshi’s fascinating and compelling arrangements, Mr. Tabackin’s virtuosity as the band’s principal soloist and the dazzling manner in which the various sections, particularly the saxophones, tore through complex ensemble passages…the remarkable balance of all three created a continuing mixture of awe and excitement.” – John S. Wilson, New York Times

This live, full-length Jazz concert DVD of the 16-piece Big Band, which includes Frank Wess and Lew Tabackin, provides an additional dimension by infusing the concert with interviews from Akiyoshi and Tabackin. The definitive record of the world’s foremost modern Jazz orchestra, this DVD, entitled Toshiko Akiyoshi Jazz Orchestra: Strive for Jive, is contemporary Big Band music at its best.



Yellow is Mellow

Strive for Jive

Quadrille Anyone?

Autumn Sea

Warning, Success May Be Hazardous to Your Health

Strive for Jive (reprise)


Bonus Features:

Toshiko Akiyoshi Biography

Lew Tabackin Biography

Frank Wess Biography

DVD Recommendations

Instant Access to the Dances

Digitally Re-Mastered Audio & Video

Dolby Stereo Audio

Arkadia Records Logo popup

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest releases, playlists, and exclusive Jazz video content.  No spam, just Jazz exclusives from our catalog.

You have Successfully Subscribed!