The Moscow Sax Quintet: The Jazznost Tour DVD

Catalog # 72318

UPC # 033909231893

Vladimir Zaremba: Leader, 1st tenor sax, soprano sax, clarinet, and bass clarinet;

Alexander Boychuk: 1st alto sax, soprano sax, and clarinet

Gennady Pakhtusov: 2nd tenor sax and flute;

Oleg Ageyev: 2nd alto sax and soprano sax;

Vladimir Konibolotsky: Baritone sax and clarinet;

Vladimir Soloviov: Piano; Igor Shestov: Bass; Alexander Churikov: Drums


“The Moscow Sax Quintet is something else… a remarkable ensemble. Their renderings of “Yardbird Suite”, “Donna Lee” and other bop classics – complete with 5-part transcriptions of Charlie Parker solos – are stunning. As an ensemble, the quintet’s work stunningly illustrates a capacity of jazz undefined by nationality.” – Don Heckman, Los Angeles TimesMoscow Sax bw 2k holding up instruments

This sizzling Jazz saxophone quintet of Russian musicians totally captures the Jazz feeling with their magical sound on this Arkadia Records album, entitled The Moscow Sax Quintet: The Jazznost Tour. Vladimir Zaremba’s arrangements of classics by Fat Waller, The Beatles, George Gershwin, and Charlie “Bird” Parker create a unique harmonic Big Band sound in the spirit of Supersax. When they interpret Bird’s improvised solos, playing them in 5-part harmony at a breakneck speed (as if they were one instrument), you can hear the mastery of their skill in the music.

… astonishing is the breathtaking virtuosity of the ensemble work.” – Joel Klauber, Jazziz Magazine

Founded in 1987 by Vladimir Zaremba, a professor at the Moscow Philharmonic Society; he and the group grew up steeped in the American Jazz tradition through the famous ‘Voice of America’ radio broadcasts. The Moscow Jazz Quintet consists of five saxophonists along with a rhythm section that play a variety of reed instruments such as Soprano Sax, Alto Sax, Baritone Sax, Tenor Sax, Clarinet, and Bass Clarinet, in a style that critics have described as highly refined Jazz music.

… a captivating sound… it’s amazing.” – The Washington Post

Long famous for their virtuosity in the classical arena, Soviet musicians have not exactly been at the forefront of the Jazz scene. However, if the Moscow Sax Quintet is any indication, there is good reason to believe they will secure their place in the world of Jazz. This Arkadia Records production, The Moscow Sax Quintet: The Jazznost Tour, not only showcases a magnificent night of straight ahead Jazz music, but proves that music is the universal language by featuring the groundbreaking Soviet group’s mastery of the American art form.

… an amazing display of pure musicianship of the highest caliber… I couldn’t pull myself away… it’s non-stop and sweet, sweet jazz… Supersax with honey… I love the Moscow Sax Quintet! If you buy only one this year you simply must make it this one.” – David J Gibson, Saxophone Journal


DVD Song Selections:

  1. In the Mood
  2. Yardbird Suite
  3. Parker’s Mood
  4. Four Brothers
  5. Your Eyes
  6. I Got Rhythm
  7. Smooth Sailing
  8. Donna Lee
  9. Waltz For Debbie
  10. Crazy Rhythm
  11. Michelle
  12. Flight of the Bumble Bee
  13. Smashing Thirds


DVD Bonus Features:

  • About the MSQ
  • Picture Gallery
  • Instant Access to Song Selection
  • Dolby Stereo Audio
  • Remastered Audio & Video
  • DVD Recommendations

Arkadia Records Logo popup

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest releases, playlists, and exclusive Jazz video content.  No spam, just Jazz exclusives from our catalog.

You have Successfully Subscribed!