Modern Jazz Quartet: 40 Years of MJQ

Catalog# 72350
UPC# 602267235029


John Lewis; Piano

Percy Heath; Bass

Milt Jackson; Vibes

Mickey Roker; Drums

40 Years of MJQ, presents the Modern Jazz Quartet’s (MJQ) Fortieth Anniversary Concert, showcasing the signature sounds that ensured the group’s lasting legacy in the history of music in a spectacular DVD package. Filmed live in Germany, the Quartet, performing the timeless compositions of their musical mastermind John Lewis, is accompanied by the lush sound of a full string orchestra.

40 Years after leaving Dizzy Gillespie’s Big Band (where the MJQ originated as Gillespie’s rhythm section), pianist and composer John Lewis, bassist Percy Heath, vibraphonist extraordinaire Milt Jackson, and drummer Mickey Roker (subbing for original member Connie Kay) perform in this unforgettable musical celebration that exemplifies the dignity of Jazz.

In this spectacular, live, full-length concert performance, the MJQ performs with the soul and the skill that defines the Jazz spirit, but you’ll hear the band’s love for classical European music reflected in gems like Three Windows (medley from the movie No Sun in Venice). “Classical” seems to be a key term here, for the Quartet’s musicians grew up inspired by the giants of classical American Jazz such as Lester Young, Teddy Wilson, and Sid Catlett.

“…can quench the thirst of almost every jazz fan.” – The Washington Post

This DVD, 40 Years of MJQ, exemplifies the beautiful flux between Classical and Jazz music in a fashion that has assured its lasting legacy in the world of Jazz, and stands as a venerable example of how tradition and innovation can merge into a deeply beautiful sound.


  • Three Windows (Medley from No Sun in Venice)
  • Sketch
  • Alexander’s Fugue
  • Adagio from Concierto de Aranjues
  • A Day in Dubrovnik Suite


Arkadia Records Logo popup

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest releases, playlists, and exclusive Jazz video content.  No spam, just Jazz exclusives from our catalog.

You have Successfully Subscribed!