Jimmy Witherspoon: Goin’ Down Blues

Catalog# 72037

UPC# 602267203790

Jimmy Witherspoon: Vocals; Wray Downes: Piano; John Heard: Bass; Harold Jones: Drums; John Collins: Guitar; Phil Moore: Piano; Marshall Royal: Saxophone

Legendary Blues singer Jimmy “Spoon” Witherspoon, one of the premiere Blues musicians of the post-WWII era, is immortalized in this exclusive Arkadia DVD entitled, “Jimmy Witherspoon: Goin’ Down Blues”. Witherspoon became the vocalist for Jay McShann’s band, which also featured T-Bone Walker and Big Joe Turner, during which time they recorded numerous hits, such as “Ain’t Nobody’s Business”, “Times Gettin’ Tougher Than Tough”, and “Big Fine Girl”, which exemplified his unique style as a “Blues Shouter.”

Jimmy Witherspoon is a big, burly blues singer with a big, burly voice that matches his stature…” – John S. Wilson, New York Times

The Ad Lib Series, now available on DVD for the first time, is a collection of 46 concert TV programs presenting the best Jazz, Pop and Blues artists showcasing their skills with a Jazz flair. Seen on TV internationally, Ad Lib (filmed in 1980) was the first musical television series recorded in Stereo. Each DVD features 2 episodes of the acclaimed Ad Lib Series.

Spoon’s blues were classic, macho, tragic and vivid… When the points are added up Witherspoon stands out as having been the ultimate amongst the troubadours of sexual disaster. He ranked with Joe Turner and Joe Williams as the most powerful of the city blues singers.” – The Independent, London

Remembered as a quintessential Blues Man, Jimmy Witherspoon had a style based in the tradition of the Big Band, and was able to incorporate genres such as Jazz, Soul, Rock ‘n Roll and R&B into his repertoire. As Seen On TV, and also featuring Jazz guitarist John Collins and Jazz sax great Marshall Royal, among others, this DVD, “Jimmy Witherspoon: Goin’ Down Blues”, features Witherspoon’s authentic, honest songs and emotional vocal styling that propelled him from his humble beginnings into a genuine musical icon.


Song Selection:

Show #15:

  1. Jimmy Witherspoon: Good Morning Blues
  2. Jimmy Witherspoon Confessin’ The Blues
  3. Jimmy Witherspoon and Marshall Royal: Roll ‘Em Pete
  4. Jimmy Witherspoon: Nobody Knows You When You’re Down and Out
  5. Marshall Royal: Jitterbug Waltz
  6. Jimmy Witherspoon and Marshall Royal: Everyday I Have the Blues

Show #12:

  1. Jimmy Witherspoon: Money’s Getting Cheaper
  2. Jimmy Witherspoon: Goin’ Down Slow
  3. Jimmy Witherspoon: Goin’ To Chicago
  4. Jimmy Witherspoon: T’ain’t Nobody’s Bizness If I Do
  5. Jimmy Witherspoon and John Collins: Roll ‘Em Pete
  6. John Collins: Dearly Beloved
  7. John Collins: Till Tomorrow
  8. Jimmy Witherspoon and John Collins: You Got Me Runnin’

Featuring Musicians:

Jimmy Witherspoon: Vocals
Wray Downes: Piano
John Heard: Bass
Harold Jones: Drums
John Collins: Guitar
Phil Moore: Piano
Marshall Royal: Saxophone

DVD Bonus Features:

  • Jimmy Witherspoon Biography
  • Marshall Royal Biography
  • Ad Lib Highlights Reel (16 min.)
  • Digitally Mastered Audio and Video
  • Dolby Stereo Audio
  • Instant Access Songs
  • DVD Recommendations

DVD Length: 1 Hour plus, Bonus Features

Arkadia Records Logo popup

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest releases, playlists, and exclusive Jazz video content.  No spam, just Jazz exclusives from our catalog.

You have Successfully Subscribed!