Europafest: Jazz Highlights

Catalog# 72006

UPC# 602267200690

Mike Stern: Guitar

Bill Frisell: Guitar

Archie Shepp: Saxophone

Sonny Fortune: Saxophone and Rabih Abou-Khalil: oud

Sun Ra: Orchestra leader

John Zorn: Saxophone

Steps Ahead: Jazz group with

Mike Mainieri: Vibraphone and Steve Smith: Drums

Charlie Mariano; Saxophone

Bob Berg: Saxophone

Marvin “Smitty” Smith: Drums


Featuring Grammy Award winning artists such as Mike Stern, Bill Frisell, Archie Shepp, Sonny Fortune, Sun Ra, John Zorn, Steps Ahead, Mike Mainieri, Charlie Mariano, Bob Berg, Marvin “Smitty” Smith, and many, many more.

Experience a night of spectacular Jazz and World music with diverse performances from the Jazz’s most distinct artists in this once-in-a-lifetime Arkadia DVD concert, filmed live from the prestigious ‘Days of Jazz’ Festival in Germany. Including everything from the outer space musings of Sun Ra and his Intergalactic Space Arkestra to the distinctive guitar virtuosity of Mike Stern; from the subtle groove of Rabih Abou-Khalil’s ode to the distinctive improvisations of Jazz saxophone great Archie Shepp, “Europafest: Jazz Highlights” delivers a showcase of influential artists, performing from one legendary stage.

With Performances By:

  1. Steps Ahead featuring Mike Mainieri and Steve Smith
  2. Samul Nori and Red Sun featuring Wolfgang Puschnig
  3. Charlie Mariano and Jörg Reiter
  4. Mike Stern and The Bob Berg Band
  5. Rabih Abou-Khalil Project featuring Sonny Fortune
  6. Sun Ra and His Omniverse Ultra 21st Century Arkestra featuring Marshell Allen, Julien Preister, and John Gilmore
  7. John Zorn’s Naked City featuring Bill Frisell
  8. The Archie Shepp Quartet featuring Marvin “Smitty” Smith and many more!

DVD Bonus Features:

  • 3 Bonus Audio Tracks (Reggie Workman, Joanne Brackeen, and Dave Liebman featuring Pat Metheny)
  • Sun Ra Biography
  • Archie Shepp Biography
  • Mike Stern Biography
  • John Zorn Biography
  • Rabih Abou-Khalil Biography
  • Mike Manieri Biography
  • Picture Gallery
  • List of All Musicians
  • Instant Access to Songs and Solos
  • Digitally Remastered Audio and Video
  • Dolby Stereo Audio
  • DVD Recommendations

DVD Length: One-hour plus, 45 minutes of Bonus Features

Arkadia Records Logo popup

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest releases, playlists, and exclusive Jazz video content.  No spam, just Jazz exclusives from our catalog.

You have Successfully Subscribed!