Billy Harper In Concert: Live From Poland

Catalog# 72007

UPC# 602267200799

Billy Harper: Tenor sax; Francesca Tanksley: Piano; Clarence Seay Bass; Newman Taylor Baker: Drums; Piotr Wojtasik: Trumpet; 60-member The University of Szczecin Choir

Billy Harper’s unique sound sets him apart from most other players.” – Russ Musto,

Saxophonist Billy Harper‘s uniquely soulful approach to Jazz is on display in this full-length concert Arkadia DVD, “Billy Harper in Concert: Live from Poland”, which features a special evening of Harper’s original compositions, as well as the acoustic splendor and gothic brilliance of the Metropolitan Basilica Cathedral of St. Jacob in Szczecin, Poland.

Harper showcases, with his symphonic flair, everything from the liberating artistic sensibility of Jazz to the mystical reach of Gospel Music, and in doing so aptly displays his profound and spiritual musical approach though his passionate melodies and dynamic soloing. Billy Harper performs with his core ensemble (Harper on saxophone, Francesca Tanksley on piano, Clarence Seay on bass, Newman Taylor Baker on drums, and trumpeter Piotr Wojitasik) along with the 60-piece Szczecin Technical University Choir, and three of the foremost musicians from Poland’s burgeoning Jazz community.

Considered one of the premiere saxophonists of the post-Coltrane era, Harper possesses an expansive, genre deconstructing style that fluctuates effortlessly around everything Jazz, from the Kansas City sound to Hard Bop, Fusion to Free, and further embraces influences from Blues, Gospel, and Rock music. While constantly evolving from the influential sound of previous Jazz generations, Billy Harper has been careful to carve out his own sound rather then retrace that of music’s past, and in the process has consciously and continuously pushed the bounds and momentum of Music forward. This Arkadia DVD, “Billy Harper in Concert: Live from Poland”, with many Bonus Features, is the premiere showcase of Harpers dynamic saxophone sound and his ability to constantly re-conceive the Jazz blueprint.

Musical Selections Include:

  • Light Within
  • Speak to Me of Love, Speak to Me of Truth
  • Thy Will Be Done
  • Quest
  • The Awakening
  • Cry of Hunger

DVD Bonus Features:

  • Bonus Concert Performance
  • Billy Harper Biography
  • Photo Gallery
  • Digitally Mastered Audio & Video
  • Dolby Stereo Audio
  • Instant Access Songs & Solos
  • DVD Recommendations

DVD Length: 80 minutes plus, Multiple Bonus Features

Arkadia Records Logo popup

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest releases, playlists, and exclusive Jazz video content.  No spam, just Jazz exclusives from our catalog.

You have Successfully Subscribed!