Über uns

Arkadia Records ist ein Grammy-nominiertes Plattenlabel, das preisgekrönte Musik, legendären Jazz und einige der renommiertesten Musiker der Welt.

Europäische Sommerzeit. 1995

200+ Künstler

Über 200 Audio- und Videotitel

00304 1Day Benny Bob Shirley GOOD

Bob Karcy, Shirley Horn, Benny Golson

00076 About Bob Karcy Billy Taylor

Billy Taylor, Bob Karcy

00069 About Billy Hart Bob Karcy Dave Liebman Pat Metheny Cecil McBee

Billy Hart, Bob Karcy, Dave Liebman, Pat Metheny, Cecil McBee

Über Arkadia Records

Während Arkadia seine Geschichte feiert, erwartet es auch gespannt seine Zukunft.

Arkadia Records wurde 1995 von Bob Karcy, einem lebenslangen Musikliebhaber, Musiker und Unternehmer, gegründet, als ihm klar wurde, dass einige der angesehensten Künstler des Jazz – alle zu seinen Favoriten – häufig Aufnahmen gemacht hatten, jedoch ohne langfristige Label-Beziehungen. Karcy beschloss, diesen musikalischen Nomaden ein Zuhause zu bieten.

Die erste Veröffentlichung auf Arkadia Jazz, dem Pianisten Billy Taylor Die Musik hält uns jung, erschien im Frühjahr 1997. Damit repräsentiert 2022 in einem wichtigen Sinne die echten 25 des LabelsNS Jubiläum.

Von Anfang an war es die Mission von Arkadia Jazz, Musik aus der gesamten Bandbreite des Genres anzubieten. Die ersten Unterzeichner reichten von geradlinigen Typen wie Billy Taylor und Benny Golson bis zu den eigenwilligen Stylisten Joanne Brackeen und Dave Liebman. Arkadia Jazz begrüßt auch weniger bekannte, aber herausragende Talente aller Stilrichtungen, darunter die brasilianischen Bands Nova Bossa Nova und Pe De Boi. Seine Veröffentlichungen erhielten schnell kritische Anerkennung für ihre hohe Kunstfertigkeit, darunter vier Grammy-Nominierungen sowie zahlreiche andere Auszeichnungen und Auszeichnungen.

Der frühe Erfolg des Labels – gepaart mit Karcys eklektischem Geschmack – ließ es bald expandieren und erweitern. Auf Arkadia Jazz folgte schnell Arkadia Chansons: ein Imprint, der geschaffen wurde, um einen wichtigen Katalog klassischer französischer Popmusik zu beherbergen (einschließlich historischer Aufnahmen unter anderem von Edith Piaf, Charles Trenet und Josephine Baker).

Als nächstes erwarb Arkadia Postcards Records und fügte seinen Beständen mehr als ein Dutzend vielseitiger, abenteuerlicher Alben hinzu. Dies war weit davon entfernt, ein Asset aus dem Backkatalog zu sein, da Arkadia Postcards als aktives Impressum unterhielt und neue Alben des Bassisten Joris Teepe und der Klassik-Jazz-Crossover-Pianistin Lara Downes herausbrachte, zusätzlich zu Legacy-Aufnahmen von Legenden wie Reggie Workman, Paul Bley, Gary Peacock & Bill Frisell, Alan Pasqua, Julian Priester & Sam Rivers.

1998 brachte Karcy viele der Künstler des Labels zusammen mit renommierten Ehrengästen zusammen, um die Arkadia Jazz All-Stars zu gründen. Arkadias neue Signature-Band hat eine Reihe gefeierter Aufnahmen gemacht, darunter die Danke dir Reihe von Hommagen an John Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Joe Henderson und Gerry Mulligan.

Arkadia Jazz blühte im 21. Jahrhundert auf und produzierte neue Aufnahmen des Saxophonisten TK Blue, des Gitarristen Nigel Clark und der Pianisten Uli Lenz und Paul Tobey sowie zusätzliche Alben von Brackeen, Golson, Liebman und Taylor. Das Label erlebte in den 2010er Jahren eine Flaute bei neuen Aktivitäten, einer Zeit enormer Veränderungen für die Plattenindustrie.

Im Jahr 2021 markierte Arkadia jedoch den Beginn eines neuen Jahrzehnts mit seiner eigenen Renaissance und veröffentlichte seinen vollständigen Katalog auf Spotify, Apple Music, Tidal, Deezer und allen anderen Streaming-Plattformen. Darüber hinaus wird 2022 die Veröffentlichung mehrerer bisher unveröffentlichter Aufnahmen aus dem Archiv des Labels (darunter unter anderem Sessions von Joanne Brackeen, TK Blue und den Arkadia Jazz All-Stars) sowie das erste neue Album von Arkadia seit Jahren erscheinen. Treffen Sie Tetel, das Debüt eines aufregenden neuen Talents, Singer-Songwriters und Geigers, des Brasilianers Tetel Di Babuya.

00085 About Bob Karcy Joanne Brackeen

Bob Karcy, Joanne Brackeen

00071 About Bob Karcy George Shearing Joe Williams

Bob Karcy, George Shearing, Joe Williams

00339 About Bob Karcy Benny Golson

Bob Karcy, Benny Golson

Über Bob Karcy

Der in England geborene und in Brasilien und den USA aufgewachsene Arkadia-Gründer und CEO Bob Karcy begann seine Liebe zum Jazz, als er in seiner Jugend zur Trompete griff. Aufgewachsen spielte er in Jazzbands und studierte an der University of Pennsylvania und der NYU, gefolgt von der Pariser Sorbonne und dem Pariser Musikkonservatorium. Während seiner Zeit in Frankreich nahm Bob einige Pop-Jazz-Alben für Polydor auf und tourte als Sänger und Trompeter durch ganz Europa und den Nahen Osten.

Zurück in den Vereinigten Staaten etablierte sich Bob als Manager (unter anderem für die Sängerin Phoebe Snow) und als unabhängiger Musikproduzent, bevor er nach Europa zurückkehrte, um als internationaler Lizenzagent zu arbeiten und verschiedene europäische Fernsehsender zu vertreten, wobei er sich auf deren umfassenden Katalog konzentrierte von musikalischen und kulturellen Programmen. Mit dem Aufstieg des Heimvideomarktes in den frühen 1980er Jahren gründete Bob VIEW Video mit Sitz in New York: ein Pionier in der Produktion, Veröffentlichung und dem Vertrieb von kultureller Videomusik und Dokumentarfilmen, der Musik- und darstellende Kunstprogramme weit vor dem Branchenprimus zum Sammeln machte Spieler kauften sich in dieses Segment des Marktplatzes ein.

Bob Karcy

In den 1990er Jahren, als Jazz die am schnellsten wachsende Seite des VIEW-Katalogs war (und das Unternehmen eine Reihe eigener Jazzkonzertprogramme produziert hatte), beschloss Bob, zum eigentlichen Musikgeschäft zurückzukehren. Er gründete Arkadia Records, pflegte langfristige Beziehungen zu einigen der besten Künstler des Jazz und produzierte die meisten Neuerscheinungen des Labels, die vier Grammy-Nominierungen erhielten. Der Name Arkadia wurde von Bobs Initialen RK inspiriert – und vom antiken griechischen Land Arkadien, einer abgelegenen Idylle des Friedens, der Schönheit und der Kontemplation.

Als CEO und primärer Produzent von Arkadia behält Bob bei der Veröffentlichung von Musik einen Old-School-Ansatz bei: Er lässt seinen Geschmack und seine Instinkte den Weg weisen. Bob erklärte: „Ich bin alt genug, um zu wissen, dass meine Intuition eine starke Erfolgsbilanz hat.“ Ob die Musik von gestandenen Musikern oder Newcomern kommt, bei denen er vielversprechende und frische Ideen hört, Bob arbeitet mit der Musik, die ihn anspricht. Seit mehr als einem Vierteljahrhundert besteht seine einzige Anforderung darin, dass die Namen auf der Arkadia-Liste „starke und wichtige künstlerische Aussagen machen“. Bob ist stolz und fühlt sich geehrt, ein wichtiger Kanal für die Verbreitung dieser Aussagen in der ganzen Welt zu bleiben.

00443 About Randy Brecker Javon Jackson Carl Allen Rodney Whitaker Eric Reed Bob Karcy Terrell Stafford Renato Thoms

Randy Brecker, Javon Jackson, Carl Allen, Rodney Whitaker, Eric Reed, Bob Karcy, Terrell Stafford, Renato Thoms

00585 About T.K. Blue Bob Karcy

TK Blau, Bob Karcy

00457 About Bob Karcy Lara Downes Benny Golson 1

Bob Karcy, Lara Downes, Benny Golson

 

Hier ist, was einige der Kritiker über Arkadia Jazz gesagt haben:

 

Arkadia Jazz, eines der angesagtesten und kompromisslosesten Labels der heutigen Szene.

Bob Young, Boston Herald

 

…jemand bei Arkadia Jazz etwas richtig macht. – Billboard

 

Vor ungefähr 15 Jahren... gründete Bob Karcy VIEW Video, ein innovatives Unternehmen, das voraufgezeichnete Videokultur in die Häuser von Tausenden brachte. Jetzt ist Arkadia Jazz… (Karcys) junges Label unterwegs und läuft ohne Probleme. – David Zych, JazzTimes

 

Plattenlabels haben sich in ihrem Umgang mit Jazz oft einen Namen gemacht. Bob Karcy möchte nun, dass sein Arkadia Jazz ein Ort wird, an dem Jazzmusiker Aufnahmen machen können, die die aktuellen Fortschritte in der Bild- und Audiotechnologie nutzen. Er möchte auch, dass die Produkte Teil einer Marketingstrategie sind, die im Jazzgeschäft manchmal fehlt. Das vielleicht Beste an seinem Bemühen ist jedoch sein Musikergeschmack.

Bob Karlovits, Pittsburgh Tribune-Rezension

 

Mit Frühlingstraining im Baseball und neuen Labels im Jazz wird die Hoffnung ewig. Arkadien ist ein brandneuer Name auf der Straße, und auf den Beweis von (Billy Taylors) Music Keeps Us Young, es könnte ein Impact-Player werden. Die Präsentation ist erstklassig, mit einer vierfarbigen Falteinlage voller Fotos und Dokumentationen einschließlich aufschlussreicher Liner Notes von Ira Gitler.

Thomas Conrad, Down Beat

 

Für ein relativ neues Label, Arkadia sorgt mit Sicherheit für Furore, verstärkend ausgezeichnete Veröffentlichungen von Billy Taylor und Benny Golson mit diesen lebendige neue Sessions vom Moskauer Saxophonquintett und Nova Bossa Nova. – Jack Bowers, Marge Hofacres Jazz News

 

Eine der aufregendsten Entwicklungen im Jazz war die jüngste Gründung neuer Labels. Ein neues Outfit aus Gotham mit dem Namen Arkadia Records führt das Feld an mit drei kraftvollen Sessions mit Jazz-Meistern. Die Produzenten von Arkadia haben ihre Hausaufgaben mit erstklassigem Mixing, cleveren Grafiken und durchdachten Linernote-Segmenten gemacht Darüber hinaus haben sie erfahrene Stars geschickt mit talentierten neuen Gesichtern gepaart, eine Praxis, die ihnen helfen sollte, Qualitätsmusiker für ihre zukünftigen Produktionen zu verpflichten. – Nick Catalano, Chelsea Clinton Nachrichten

Musik ist eine Reise.

Jazz geht verloren.

– John O'Farrell

Jazz….nichts anderes wird den demokratischen Prozess jemals so perfekt einfangen. Jazz bedeutet, sich mit anderen Menschen musikalisch zu erarbeiten. Du musst anderen Musikern zuhören und mit ihnen spielen, auch wenn du mit dem, was sie spielen, nicht einverstanden bist. Es lehrt Sie das genaue Gegenteil von Rassismus und Antisemitismus. Es lehrt dich, dass die Welt groß genug ist, um uns alle aufzunehmen. – Wynton Marsalis

Newsletter

About Us

Arkadia Records is a Grammy Nominated Record Label that features award-winning music, legendary jazz, and some of the world’s most renowned musicians.

Est. 1995

200+ Artists

200+ Audio & Video Titles

00304 1Day Benny Bob Shirley GOOD

Bob Karcy, Shirley Horn, Benny Golson

00076 About Bob Karcy Billy Taylor

Billy Taylor, Bob Karcy

00069 About Billy Hart Bob Karcy Dave Liebman Pat Metheny Cecil McBee

Billy Hart, Bob Karcy, Dave Liebman, Pat Metheny, Cecil McBee

About Arkadia Records

As Arkadia celebrates its history,  it also eagerly anticipates its future.

Arkadia Records was founded in 1995 by Bob Karcy, a lifelong music lover, musician and entrepreneur, when he realized that some of the most esteemed artists in jazz—all among his favorites—had recorded frequently, but without long-term label relationships. Karcy decided to offer those musical nomads a home.

The first release on the Arkadia Jazz imprint, pianist Billy Taylor’s The Music Keeps Us Young, appeared in spring 1997. Thus, in an important sense, 2022 represents the label’s real 25th anniversary.

From its inception, it was Arkadia Jazz’s mission to offer music from across the genre’s full gamut. Earliest signees ranged from the straight-ahead likes of Billy Taylor and Benny Golson to the idiosyncratic stylists Joanne Brackeen and Dave Liebman. Arkadia Jazz also welcomes lesser known but superlative talents in any style, including Brazilian bands Nova Bossa Nova and Pe De Boi. Its releases quickly received critical recognition for their high artistry, including four Grammy Award nominations in addition to numerous other accolades and awards.

The label’s early success—coupled with Karcy’s eclectic tastes—soon allowed it to expand and broaden. Arkadia Jazz was quickly followed by Arkadia Chansons: an imprint created to house an important catalog of classic French popular music (including historic recordings by Edith Piaf, Charles Trenet, and Josephine Baker, among others).

Arkadia next acquired Postcards Records, adding over a dozen eclectic, adventurous albums to its holdings. This was far from a back-catalog asset, with Arkadia maintaining Postcards as an active imprint, issuing new albums by bassist Joris Teepe and classical-jazz crossover pianist Lara Downes in addition to legacy recordings by such legends as Reggie Workman, Paul Bley, Gary Peacock & Bill Frisell, Alan Pasqua, Julian Priester & Sam Rivers.

In 1998, Karcy brought together many of the label’s artists, together with renowned special guests, to form the Arkadia Jazz All-Stars. Arkadia’s new signature Band made a number of acclaimed recordings, including the Thank You series of tributes to John Coltrane, Duke Ellington, Joe Henderson, and Gerry Mulligan.

Arkadia Jazz flourished into the 21st century, producing new recordings by saxophonist TK Blue, guitarist Nigel Clark, and pianists Uli Lenz and Paul Tobey as well as additional albums by Brackeen, Golson, Liebman, and Taylor. The label experienced a lull in new activity during the 2010s, a time of enormous transformation for the recording industry.

In 2021, however, Arkadia marked the dawn of a new decade with its own renaissance, releasing its complete catalogue on Spotify, Apple Music, Tidal,, Deezer and all other streaming platforms. Moreover, 2022 will see the release of several previously unissued recordings from the label’s archive (including sessions by Joanne Brackeen, TK Blue, and the Arkadia Jazz All-Stars, among others), as well as Arkadia’s first new album in years, Meet Tetel, the debut by an exciting new talent, singer-songwriter and violinist, Brazil’s Tetel Di Babuya.

00085 About Bob Karcy Joanne Brackeen

Bob Karcy, Joanne Brackeen

00071 About Bob Karcy George Shearing Joe Williams

Bob Karcy, George Shearing, Joe Williams

00339 About Bob Karcy Benny Golson

Bob Karcy, Benny Golson

About Bob Karcy

Born in England and raised in Brazil and the U.S., Arkadia founder and CEO Bob Karcy’s love affair with jazz began when he picked up the trumpet in boyhood. Growing up, he played in jazz bands and studied at the University of Pennsylvania and NYU, followed by Paris’s Sorbonne and the Paris Music Conservatory. During his years living in France, Bob recorded some pop-jazz albums for Polydor, and toured widely as a vocalist and trumpet player throughout Europe and the Middle East.

Back in the United States, Bob established himself as a manager (for vocalist Phoebe Snow among others) and as an independent music producer, before returning to Europe to work as an international licensing agent, representing various European television networks, focusing on their deep catalog of musical and cultural programming. With the rise of the home video market in the early 1980s, Bob founded New York-based V.I.E.W. Video: a pioneer in cultural video music and documentary production, publishing and distribution, making music and performing arts programs widely collectible, long before the industry’s major players bought into that segment of the marketplace.

Bob Karcy

By the 1990s, with jazz the fastest-growing side of VIEW’s catalogue (and the Company having produced a number jazz concert programs of its own), Bob decided to return to the music business proper. He founded Arkadia Records, cultivated long-term relationships with some of the jazz’s finest artists and produced most of the label’s new releases, which went on to receive four Grammy Award nominations. The Arkadia name was inspired by Bob’s initials, RK—and by the ancient Greek land of Arcadia, a secluded idyll of peace, beauty and contemplation.

As Arkadia’s CEO and primary producer, Bob maintains an old-school approach towards releasing music: He lets his taste and instincts lead the way. Bob stated, “I’m old enough to know that my intuition has a strong record of success.” Whether the music comes from stalwarts or newcomers in whom he hears promise and fresh ideas, Bob works with the music that appeals to him. For more than a quarter century, his only requirement has been that the names on the Arkadia roster “make strong and important artistic statements.” Bob is proud and honored to remain a crucial conduit for disseminating those statements to the wider world.

00443 About Randy Brecker Javon Jackson Carl Allen Rodney Whitaker Eric Reed Bob Karcy Terrell Stafford Renato Thoms

Randy Brecker, Javon Jackson, Carl Allen, Rodney Whitaker, Eric Reed, Bob Karcy, Terrell Stafford, Renato Thoms

00585 About T.K. Blue Bob Karcy

T.K. Blue, Bob Karcy

00457 About Bob Karcy Lara Downes Benny Golson 1

Bob Karcy, Lara Downes, Benny Golson

 

Here’s what some of the critics have said about Arkadia Jazz:

 

Arkadia Jazz, one of the hippest and most uncompromising labels on today’s scene.

Bob Young, Boston Herald

 

…someone’s doing something right at Arkadia Jazz. – Billboard

 

Some 15 years ago…Bob Karcy started V.I.E.W. Video, a cutting edge company that brought prerecorded video culture into the homes of thousands. Now Arkadia Jazz…(Karcy’s) fledgling label is off and running without a hitch. – David Zych, JazzTimes

 

Record labels often have been able to make a name for themselves in the way they treat jazz. Now, Bob Karcy wants his Arkadia Jazz to become a place where jazz musicians can produce recordings that make use of current advances in visual and audio technology. He also wants the products to be part of a marketing strategy that sometimes is lacking in the jazz business. Perhaps the best thing about his effort, though, is his taste in musicians.

Bob Karlovits, Pittsburgh Tribune-Review

 

With spring training in baseball and new labels in jazz, hope springs eternal. Arkadia is a brand new name on the street, and on the evidence of (Billy Taylor’s) Music Keeps Us Young, it could become an impact player. The presentation is first-class, with a four-color fold-out insert full of photos and documentation including insightful liner notes by Ira Gitler.

Thomas Conrad, Down Beat

 

For a relatively new label, Arkadia is certainly making a resounding splash, amplifying excellent releases by Billy Taylor and Benny Golson with these vibrant new sessions by the Moscow Sax Quintet and Nova Bossa Nova. – Jack Bowers, Marge Hofacre’s Jazz News

 

One of the most exciting developments in jazz has been the recent cropping-up of new labels. A new Gotham-based outfit dubbed Arkadia Records is leading the pack with three powerful sessions featuring jazz masters. Producers at Arkadia have done their homework with first-rate mixing, clever graphics and thoughtful liner note segments In addition they have cleverly paired veteran stars with talented new faces, a practice that should help them sign quality musicians for their future productions. – Nick Catalano, Chelsea Clinton News

Music is a Journey.

Jazz is getting lost.

– John O’Farrell

Jazz….nothing else will ever so perfectly capture the democratic process. Jazz means working things out musically with other people. You have to listen to other musicians and play with them even if you don’t agree with what they’re playing. It teaches you the very opposite of racism and anti-Semitism. It teaches you that the world is big enough to accommodate us all.  –  Wynton Marsalis

Newsletter